~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Fettuccine with Prosciutto Truffle Sauce

Probably my favorite pasta dish

Probably my favorite pasta dish

I always like recreating something I’ve had at restaurant, friend’s house, or more commonly my mom’s food. Recently, my friends and I went to the Dine About Launch Party in San Francisco, where we tasted items from about 20 or 30 restaurants. It was a blast. I definitely had a hard time saving enough room to taste everything (I failed because beer). I had this pasta dish from an Italian Restaurant there. Alright I forgot what it was called, but I’m sure I can find out. Anyways, it was more of a blind taste test for me because I did not know what pasta I was eating (didn’t bother to look at the sign). But some flavors were distinct, prosciutto, tomato, and truffle. Probably one of the best pastas I’ve ever had. So in my mind, I had to recreate it. This is my take.

Ingredients.
1 cup of chopped prosciutto (enough to loosely fill a cup)
1/2 chopped onion
1 tablespoon of tomato paste
6 oz can of diced tomatoes
2 cloves of garlic, rough chopped
1/2 tablespoon of herb de province
1/2 pint of heavy cream
1 teaspoon of black truffle oil

Salt, pepper, a bit of sliced basil (optional), parmesan cheese to season

Basically throw all the ingredients except for the cream, truffle oil, and basil into a saute pan and saute for about 5 minutes on medium high heat. Let everything come together and then toss the mixture into a blender. Blend as finely as you can. You’ll need to scrap down the sides. Return the mixture to the pan, and heat through on medium heat for a couple of minutes, just to let everything melt together a bit more. Add cream and stir well. Finish with the truffle oil, basil, and cheese. Toss this with cooked pasta. I wanted something big, but all the had was fettuccine.

On a difficulty scale, this is probably 4/10

On a difficulty scale, this is probably 4/10

I served this with some roasted chicken, and it was fantastic. By far my favorite pasta (sorry seven hills you’re too expensive to eat often!). Definitely give this one a try. It’s crazy easy to make, and will definitely wow any of your guests!

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Dinner, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers

Authors