~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Thai Chicken Roulade

Pictures by the lovely Chelsea and Eleanor. Thanks yall for tolerating my experiment.

Haven’t been updating. Sorry. I’m still cooking though. My cousin is starting a new chapter in her life; just came back from a crazy long trip all across Asia doing a bunch of different things. She didn’t have a long time in the Bay area after having returned, so of course I tried to make her and her friends dinner to send her off. I wanted something light, but tasty. I’ll be honest, I had no idea what I was doing. But I came up with this Thai Chicken Roulet that was good, but better execution would have made it way better. Chicken Roulet

Ingredients:
1 lbs of chicken breast (about 3 or 4), butterflied, and pounded out thin
1 cup chopped zuccini
1 cup chopped yellow squash
1/2 onion chopped
1/2 cup of sliced water chestnut
1/2 cup edamame, peeled
1/2 cup of chopped thai basil

Curry paste :
1 chopped lemon grass stalk
2 jalapenos
1 thai pepper
1/2 tbsp crush ginger
1/2 tbsp chopped garlic
1/2 chopped green bell pepper
1/2 lime worth of lime juice
1/2 cup chopped cilantro

Sauce:
1/2 cup dashi
3 cups of water

Sugar, salt, pepper to taste.

Blend all the ingredients of the curry paste in a food processor to make a smooth paste. Use sugar to balance out the taste.

Saute zuccini, squash, and onion with the paste in a pan heated on medium heat. Cook the veggies down until al dente; we don’t want have it too mushy. This should take about 7 minutes or so. At the end, toss in the basil. Let this mixture cool to room temperature by either letting it sit, or cool in freezer/fridge.

Then take this mixture and spread about 2 tablespoons on the chicken breasts that have been pounded thin. And simply roll the chicken like a sheet with the filling.  I used saran wrap to make the whole process easier and to tighten the rolls.

Now all you want to do is pan fry these rolls. It takes no time at all, because the filling is already cooked, and the chicken is really thin. I was afraid the rolls would be difficult to pan fry, so I pouched the rolls while they were rolled in saran wrap. This was a mistake. It made the chicken dry I believe, having it cooked twice. I’m pretty sure I just didn’t fry it fast enough. Rookie mistake!

While the chicken is frying in the pan, you can make the super easy sauce. Basically saute some of the curry paste, edamame, and water chestnut in a sauce pan for about a minute to release those favors. Then add the dashi (ya super weird) and water. Bring to a boil and that’s it! I didn’t want to thicken it, but you could definitely add coconut milk if you want. I didn’t feel like it.

I didn’t make enough sauce, so double the recipe. Or triple it, whatever you want. I just wanted more.

Just slice up the finished chicken rolls, top with the sauce and there you go. Something really weird definitely, but I think the idea behind it is solid. I just have to do it better next time. Thank god I had really awesome and patient guests over. Clarissa, Eleanor, and Chelsea are super helpful sous chefs!

(ya I know my beef chili was better and sorry I made it a day before yall came!)

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2012 by in Chicken, Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Authors

