~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Chipotle and Peach Chicken with Cannellini Cassoulet

When in doubt, go flat out

After I did some gift shopping for someone important to me and eventually ending up with no gift purchases, I was quite frustrated that I had traveled so far for nothing. But luckily, I realized that I was near the large Asian Market in Richmond, and went there to see what I could pick up. Oddly, the only thing that caught my eye was chipotle in adobo sauce that was super cheap. And cheap peaches. So immediately I said, both of those together in a chicken breast. I wanted something to compliment it, and I thought beans (instead of the usual pasta, bread, or rice). I thought of a cassoulet, which is basically a bean, meat stew.

First start the simple cassoulet. Since it’s a stew, the longer it goes, the better. You’ll just need a can of cannellini beans, half as much fresh tomatoes, bacon, onions, and garlic. Crisp the bacon like you are used to, and then drain half the fat. Throw in chopped onions on medium heat. After a minute add the garlic and cook for another minute. Then add drained beans and tomatoes. Then add water to just cover what’s in the pan. Cover, bring to a boil, then lower to low simmer. Stir occasionally. Season to taste.

For the chicken, you’ll need of course need chicken breasts, chipotle in adobe sauce found in a can and peaches. To further the filling: 1 lime, some chives, and cilantro. Basically combine equal parts of chipotle and diced peaches, and the rest of the ingredients to your own taste. You can stuff the chicken into two ways, run a small knife in the chicken breast to make a pocket, or butterfly them with three flaps and roll it. I used the butterfly method, although the pocket method is easier I think. Just stuff the chicken, and throw into a pan with olive oil heated on medium heat. It should take about 8 minutes or so on each side.

A closer look so you can see the caassoulet and filling

The reason in my mind I thought these things went well together is because they balance each other. The chicken is spicy because of the chipotle, but you also get the sweetness from the peach. The richness of the cassoulet, yet mild flavor gives slight smokiness from the bacon to compliment the chipotle, and the sauce just makes everything come together. To me, mind blowing. I love this.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2012 by in Chicken, Dinner and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Authors

