~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Peppercorn Pork Loin Roast with Asparagus and Mint Couscous

There's a bed of Asaragus under those slices of pork, I swear.

You know what they say, Couscous is so good they named it twice. This week is going to be a good week for rrFoods. An empty refrigerator is no longer an issue!  I recently stocked up on meats and veggies–I was kind of getting sick of eating chicken all the time. Don’t get me wrong I love chicken but it’s time for something different. And pork loins were super cheap this weekend. Plus I’ve noticed a lot of talk about couscous and how it should be properly made. I wanted to try out a new method so I’ll walk you through everything.

Pre heat the oven to 375F. The marinade for the pork loin is basically lemon juice, salt and a lot of peppercorns–gives it a very spicy taste. Put some olive oil and butter in a pan, and seared all sides of the pork loin until brown. If your loin is very large and uneven, you should use kitchen twine to wrap it in a nice even roll. My pork was small and even so it was not necessary. Chop about six asparagus stocks into 2 inch pieces and layer it at the bottom of a baking pan. Season with olive oil, salt, pepper–you can throw whole garlic cloves in too, but I didn’t have any. Take the pork loin and place it on the bed of asparagus and put into the oven. Took me about 40 minutes but it completely depends on how big your pork loin is.

For a sauce, I deglazed the pan I use for searing the pork with some water and chicken stock. Seasoned it to taste and added some mustard, and butter. Mustard and pork go great together.

For the couscous, I was used to bringing water to a boil, and dropping the couscous in. But someone suggested that the opposite be done; drop boiling water into couscous for a fluffier couscous. Well that’s what I did with some salt, using a 1 to 1 ratio. Cover it and let cook OFF HEAT. After about 15 minutes the water should be gone. To be honest, I did not notice any major difference. I think the main factor amount of water you put in. Just remember to use a fork to fluff it. Add in a chiffonade of mint leaves and stir well.

And that’s basically it. Takes little work at all. Most of the time is spent waiting for the pork to finish in the oven. I hope you guys enjoy this, give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2012 by in Dinner, Redmeat and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Authors

