~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Soba Sukiyaki

This is a "Vegetarian version" which means there wasn't any meat around to throw in.

I’ll admit, I am a sucker for Ramen. Top Ramen, so bad in terms of taste so I avoid it. A step up would be those import dried Ramen packs at Asian supermarkets. Probably 10 times better. I guess I am a sucker for noodles and broth. It’s just so versatile. The best part of Vietnamese cuisine has to be the noodle dishes, like Pho. I find comfort in noodles and soup during the winter. So looking in my pantry (if you can call it that), I decided to make a Japanese noodle soup. I didn’t have Ramen noodles (which are Chinese I believe–just an interesting point), but I did have Soba noodles. So  I bastardize Japanese Cuisine to calm my own stomach.

What I made here is a basically a vegetarian Sukiyaki…with Soba. I wouldn’t describe this as creative, but impromptu. Let me show you what I did. First just boil Soba noodles the same way you would do pasta. But unlike pasta, after it is al-dente, give it a ice water bath to stop the cooking. Then let it dry on paper towels or hang from some drainer.

The broth is super simple. All you need is soy sauce, mirin, sugar, a variety of veggies (I used onions, green onions,  and Napa Cabbage). and some sort of broth–I used Japanese Mushroom Broth because that’s what I had to match flavors. You could use beef broth. I want to do this with either beef or duck broth to see how it turns out. Just to let you know, I would roughly say 1 to 5 parts mirin to soy sauce, and add 2 parts broth. But it’s basically up to you– Balance it as you like, taste as you go. I will be honest, I added more/less of the ingredients until I felt like it was good. Remember, the broth reduces. Boil everything to mix well and release flavor.

Once the Soba noodles are done and dry, and the broth is up to your standard, put some Soba in a bowl, add the broth, and then add any veggies you decided to have.  I sliced whatever I had paper think, so it would soften in my bowl. But if you wanted, say a big chunk of carrot or broccoli, you can just throw them into the boiling broth to soften. Use your judgment.

I topped the dish with a hard-boiled egg for some protein and added some Louisiana spice for heat.  Pretty simple, and well worth it! Stay warm and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2012 by in Dinner and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Authors

