~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Flounder Fish and Chips

You're not in a Scottish Pub if they don't serve fish and chips

Fish and Chips is just awesome, but I don’t even know a place near me that serves it. So I guess I have to make it myself. Honestly I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to make with the fish I had, and I remembered my Scottish friend Robin went to a Scottish Pub (that was anything but a Scottish Pub) the night before, so this is for him.

The main difficulty was prepping the fish. Luckily it was already scaled and all i had to do was fillet the fish and make sure people didn’t choke on bones. The fish I had was some sort of flounder, I think. I usually can tell but I wasn’t 100% sure. Anyways, my approach was make the fries (chips) first because it won’t flavor the oil and I can just fry the fish in the same oil after.

To make fries without a deep frier: cut a potato into even sticks medium sized. Then wash them to remove some starch content (makes them fry better) and blanch them in salted water for a couple of minutes. Drain them and dry them with paper towels. Heat a pan on medium and add canola oil (olive oil is not good for frying) to about half the height of your fries. When it’s heated (about 2 minutes) put your potato sticks in the pan in a single layer. Fry until golden brown flipping when necessary.

While those are going, you can prep the fish. A simple beer batter will do. Just beat 1 egg with maybe 1 cup of flour, seasoned with salt and pepper, and add whisk in beer (I used Red Stripe because that’s what I had) until you get the consistency you want. Some like thick batters, some like thin. I went with a relatively thin batter. Salt and pepper your fish fillets and dunk them in the batter–let some of the excess run off–and fry and flip until golden brown.

I wish I had some malt vinegar, but I just used some tartar sauce. Give it a try! Seriously…it’s not hard. Seriously.

3 comments on “Flounder Fish and Chips

  1. slakdjfklds
    January 21, 2012

    I WANT THAT

  2. Smelldick McClure
    January 22, 2012

    Love it

  3. Food Critic
    January 25, 2012

    I’m a big time critic and this impresses me ever so!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2012 by in Dinner, Fish, Lunch and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Authors

