~ rrFoods ~

Recipes from two guys who have always loved cooking.

Chicken Vindaloo and Biryani Medley

Caitlin makes a better Vindaloo, and apparently really good Naan with her pizza stone

It’s been a while since there has been a post, but that doesn’t mean we weren’t cooking anything. The holidays were quite busy. Anywho, yesterday my dear friend Caitlin came to visit me in Berkeley and I owed her a homemade dinner after she had made me a great pasta for dinner some time before. I had no idea what to make for her because she has either tasted or seen my go-to-dishes, and we have different tastes–I’d go for red meat while she would go for a Ratatouille. But I remembered a while back we made an Indian dinner for our friends, and she made a really good Vindaloo. So I took on the task for making one that would be just as good. To be honest I had no idea what I was doing. I usually don’t follow recipes. I look at Wikipedia pages of dishes to find out what is in a dish and where it came from.

So here we have a Chicken Vindaloo that also has yellow squash, zucchini, onions, and potatoes with a Biryani Medley that I found that Trader Joes.I marinaded chunks of chicken breast in some chardonnay, jalapenos, Serrano peppers, ginger, garlic, Garam Masala, cumin, cinnamon. I tried making a paste out of these ingredients without a blender, food processor, or a mortar and pestle . I failed.  Saute the chicken, add the veggies, throw in a bay leaf and some water. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat and let simmer. Really good, but it was more Vindaloo-esque than actual Vindaloo.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2012 by in Chicken, Dinner.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Authors

